Beautifully engraved certificate from the Amherst Steam Mill Company issued
in 1848. This historic document has an
ornate border around it. This item is hand signed by the Company’s President ( Aaron Lawrence )and Treasurer and is
over 154 years old. The certificate was issued to Francis Peabody and signed by him on the verso.
The Amherst Steam Mill Company was incorporated in
July, 1846, with Samuel B. Melendy, Cyrus Eastman and Francis
Peabody the first executives named. Aaron Lawrence became the
president of the board of directors. Several buildings were
erected. A sawmill began operating in February, 1847, a grist mill
on May 1, and a clapboard and a shingle mill shortly thereafter.
A fifty horse-power steam engine powered the mills. Notices
appearing in the Farmer's Cabinet, published in Amherst, called
people to meetings, notified stockholders when assessments were due
on their shares, advertised for workers, and finally in the summer
of 1848, advertised the mills for sale. The buildings burned March
We will always maintain our founding commitment to customer satisfaction and the delivery of an exceptional product with an enjoyable shopping experience. Please let us know how we may be of service to you. Stay Safe!!!
All Old Stock and Bond
Certificates are actual authentic certificates and are sold only as collectibles.
We do not sell reproductions and offer a lifetime guarantee to the
authenticity of everything we sell.